Pair of Sharks Named to ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Team

The 2022 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division II All-Region teams were announced earlier Wednesday morning, with Daniel Irisarri and Jeremy Cook being recognized as Second-Team members in the South Region. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Division II All-America Committee.  

Irisarri, who also earned D2CCA All-South Region honors, was an offensive force for the Sharks during the 2022 campaign. Irisarri finished the season with a 0.340 batting average, tallied 67 hits, added four home runs, while driving in 42 and going a perfect 19-19 in stolen bases. In addition to the ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division II All-Region and D2CCA honors, the junior also was named to the All-Sunshine State Conference First-Team.  

Cook, the Sharks leader in wins on the 2022 season, ended the campaign unbeaten with an 8-0 record on the mound. The south-paw led Nova Southeastern in innings pitched (83.2), wins (8), and strikeouts (84), while holding a 3.33 earned run average. In 15 starts, Cook recorded seven quality starts and saved his best work for the NCAA South Region Tournament. In the Sharks first game of the national tournament, the left-hander pitched into the ninth inning, throwing 8.1 innings, striking out seven, and allowed two earned runs in the Sharks victory over Valdosta State.  

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and High School. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007. 

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Randy Betten (Cal Poly Pomona), Jamie Detillion (Grand Valley State University), Jim Gantt (Catawba College), Rick Giannetti (Dominican College), Dave Hajek (University of Colorado at Colorado Springs), Alex Koch (Wayne State College) and Joe Spano (Mercyhurst University). 

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 13,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. 

About Rawlings 
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800. 

To stay up-to-date on Sharks Baseall, be sure to follow on Instagram and Twitter at @NSU_Baseball. 

Print Friendly Version