Postseason Awards Continue to Pile Up for NSU’s Mark Matthews

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Add two more honors to an already-impressive list of postseason awards for Nova Southeastern men’s basketball’s Mark Matthews, as the redshirt senior has officially been named to the Bevo Francis Award Top 25 Watch List in addition to being recognized as a member of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-South District First Team.

Matthews becomes the first player in program history to crack the Top 25 Watch List, while the all-district selection marks his second in as many seasons.

An All-American a year ago, Matthews has put himself in line to earn All-America accolades once again this season after guiding NSU back to the NCAA Tournament as the No. 2 seed in the South Region. The 6-6 forward led the nation’s second-ranked scoring offense (101.8 ppg) with 22.0 points per game to go along with 7.1 rebounds and 5.2 assists in 29 starts. The native of Bonita Springs, Fla. posted each of the program’s two highest single-game point totals this winter, pouring in a career-high 45 points against Palm Beach Atlantic on Jan. 15 before delivering a 42-point performance in the Sunshine State Conference Tournament final versus No. 5 Florida Southern. In just two seasons with the Sharks, Matthews finishes his career among the program’s Top-10 in points (1,317), rebounds (522) and assists (269).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II, Matthews was joined on the All-South District First Team by Barry’s Tylan Birts, Avery Brown of Miles, Valdosta State’s Clay Guillozet, Florida Southern’s Brett Hanson and Ryan Montgomery of Lee. Florida Southern’s Mike Donnelly was announced as the South District Coach of the Year.

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.. Considerations for the award include season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. This is an incredibly prestigious award, as this award will only be given to one player within Small College Basketball per season.

This year represents the fifth year of the Bevo Francis Award. Past winners include Dominez Burnett of Davenport in 2016, Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State in 2017, Emanuel Terry of Lincoln Memorial in 2018 and Aston Francis of Wheaton in 2019.

The finalists for this year’s award will be announced on Apr. 4, followed by the Bevo Francis Award winner being crowned on Apr. 6th.

To view the entire Bevo Francis Award Top 25 Watch List, click here.

The NABC All-District Teams can be seen here.

Print Friendly Version